Arts For Learning Indiana

Setup Menus in Admin Panel

Cheryl Strain Professional Development Award

Total amount available: $1,500

The purpose of the Cheryl Award is to provide funds to an Arts for Learning Teaching Artist, Board Member, or Staff Member for attendance to the Young Audiences Inc. National Conference April 3-5, 2019 in Houston, TX. Click here to download the rubric by which you will be considered.

About the Award:

Background: Over the years, Cheryl Strain has dedicated many hours to ensuring the success of Arts for Learning, serving terms as chair of nearly every committee and Board Chair. She is undoubtedly one of the most vocal advocates in the community, having personally raised countless donations for the organization. She is the only Indiana affiliate board member to have served on the National Young Audiences Board of Directors, in addition to several national committees, and was even a recipient of the National Board Member of the Year Award.

Scholarship: In an effort to recognize Cheryl’s extraordinary contributions to the organization, Arts for Learning has decided to create a scholarship in her honor, which will allow a board member, staff member and/or teaching artist to attend the annual Young Audiences’ National Conference. The conference is an excellent opportunity for participants to grow in their knowledge of and commitment to the field of arts in education, as well as learn about the network as a whole and interact with representatives of other affiliates.

Policy:  The fund established in 2014, will generate it’s first award Spring, 2015.  The Cheryl Award is awarded to one or more teaching artists, board members, or staff members per year.  The level of the award will be based on previous year’s endowment income.  A set percentage (to be determined by the Arts for Learning Board of Directors) of spendable income from the endowment will be utilized to fund the Cheryl Award. Once determined by the Board, the percentage of income deemed the Cheryl Award will be in force each year, until such time as the Arts for Learning Board of Directors changes it.

Procedure:  The executive committee of the Board of Director of Arts for Learning will serve as the adjudicating body. The adjudicators will develop an annual application form (with the amount of the Cheryl Award identified for that year). The awardee will be recognized at the Arts for Learning Annual Board Meeting.

The Fine Print:

 Applications must be submitted (online or by mail to the Arts for Learning offices) by Friday, February 8th, 2019 at 3:00pm. Late applications will not be accepted. Award recipients will be notified by Friday, February 22nd, 2019. Conference expenses will be reimbursed upon submission of receipts.  The Cheryl Strain Award recipient will attend the Annual Board Meeting June 19th, 2019 at 4:45pm to be recognized with all annual Arts for Learning awardees. Applications will be adjudicated by the Arts for Learning executive committee at their sole discretion.


To apply, please fill out the form below. If you prefer to mail the application, you may download it by clicking here.

The 2019 Cheryl Strain Professional Development Award app

For information on this year’s National conference, click here.

  • First
Copyright 2019Registered 501(c)(3). EIN: 35-1148812